Tags

, ,

I have in my right hand, direct from my home office, today’s category: Top ten great things about having cancer:

10. It’s a great excuse to get out of work. “Sorry, I can’t help with VBS. I’m having radiation for prostate cancer.” (One editor actually offered to delay a deadline if I didn’t feel up to writing.)

9. You find out just how many friends you have. I’ve been completely overwhelmed with the e-mails expressing love and promising that I am being prayed for daily. Thank you!

8. It puts life in perspective. My doctor keeps assuring me “This isn’t life-threatening,” but the awareness that 35,000 men do die of prostate cancer every year does tend to make you evaluate the priorities of your life.

7. Uh . . . well . . . ah . . . I guess there are only three. I haven’t gotten into the third and fourth weeks of radiation when the potential side-effects kick in: nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, . . . (well, that’s probably all you want to know).

I am grateful that a) it was found early, b) the high-tech Intensity-Modulated Radiation Therapy facility is just three minutes from our home and c) there’s a 92-98 percent chance of complete success. I’ll have 42 treatments which should wrap up by the middle of August.

So, right now, I feel great physically and emotionally. I’ll let you know how it goes in three or four weeks. And, thanks again for your emails and prayers!

P.S. Several have commented that I haven’t lost my sense of humor. I do hope it’s the last sense to go. We’ll see if, after week four, I’ll have a top ten list of the great things about diarrhea.

