Tags

, , ,

I try to avoid talking about personal affairs here.

I’d rather comment on things like Focus on the Family’s James Dobson accusing Democratic presidential candiate Barak Obama of “distorting” the Bible. The conservative talk show host told his listeners, “I think he’s deliberately distorting the traditional understanding of the Bible to fit his own worldview, his own confused theology. He is dragging biblical understanding through the gutter.” Obama replied that Dobson was ” just making stuff up, maybe for his own purposes.”

So, some thoughts on biblical interpretation and the question of who’s side is God on?

But yesterday my wife, Lois, went in for what we thought was going to be the simple removal of a benign cyst. The fifteen-minute surgery turned into a three-hour hysterectomy. The doctor was able to perform it laparoscoptically, so recovery should be relatively easy. Thanks for your prayers and emails to her.

And my radiation treatments for prostate cancer are going well. While lying in the dark, a green laser projects a line across my lower torso while two red lasers create an X along the green line to guide the radiation. It looks like Yoda and Darth Maul having a light saber battle on Planet Prostate. Kinda cool!

Tomorrow, I’ll get back to ranting about broader issues but, for now, my thoughts are revolving around Watkins World.

