Tags

, ,

I have “cancer light.” At least that’s what I’ve dubbed it it. Prostate cancer is the lazy, under-achiever in the cancer family: slow-growing and easily treated if caught early. You don’t even “battle” it at my stage. You simply lie back and let the radioactive waves deal with the slacker. It’s cancer with a lower-case c.

So, I need to apologize to those who are facing Cancer with a capital C: those in terrible pain as they wage a life and death battle with the monster, who have been told they have six months to live and who will never see their children or grandchildren grow up. I’ve probably been too flippant about my diagnosis and treatment.

We all need a “wake up call” that life is short and unpredictable, that God and family are the most important things in life, and that we need to leave the world a better place than we found it. I’m grateful mine has been a tap on the shoulder, not a blow to the gut that leaves one breathless, immobilized and dying. (And there is a 5-10 percent the radiation treatment will not be effective and I will have less than ten years left on this earth—I did mention it is a slow cancer.)

The late Tony Snow, White House press secretary and TV commentator, had Cancer with a capital C: aggressive, painful and deadly. And yet he was able to write eloquently about the disease, death and the hope that we can have facing the big C:

Cancer’s Unexpected Blessings

And so I will try to write faster, love my God and family deeper, and live more fully after my wake up call. And I pray your wake up call will be in all lower-case letters!

