Tags

I have in my right hand, direct from my home office in Corn Borer, Indiana, today’s category: top ten things my Dad taught me. Actually, there are probably thousands: how to ride a bike, how to shoot a gun, how to parallel park, how to tie a Windsor knot, how to use a table saw without losing any appendages . . . the list goes on and on. But here are, what I consider, the top ten:

10. Sand with the grain
Cut against the grain, but then sand with it to smooth things out. Good advice for woodworking and working with people.

9. It’s better to laugh than cry

Since my sophomore year in high school, I’ve been writing humor: a weekly column for seven years in a teen magazine, a column for fifteen years in three Indiana newspapers, and a column each issue for a pastors’ magazine. I couldn’t have developed my dry sense of English humor without the wonderful examples from my Dad. His quiet, spontaneous wit continues to crack up the family even as dementia muddles his mind and cancer batters his body. It is better to laugh than cry!

[Continue reading]

